Zombieland on DVD – Movie Review

Alright, so I missed Zombieland in the theater – truthfully I wasn’t sure I wanted to shell out the $10 or so bucks for this movie so I patiently waited for the DVD release on 02-05-10. Well, its here and I’ve watched  it and OMG! How many times have you watched a thriller movie where someone knocks out the killer, turns their back and you’re shouting at the screen “BEHIND YOU!”, as the killer gets back up again? Well, Zombieland so addresses that main movie plot issue in the best way – rule # 4:  the Double Tap! lol. 

From the get go, this movie reminded me a little bit of a mash up of Kiss Kiss Bang Bang and a video game.  And if someone out there just went, “Kiss Kiss – what?”, we have to talk. 

So, we meet the main character, Columbus – by the way, I loved how they by-passed names in this movie – as he’s telling us how the mad cow disease mutated, and after a fateful bite of a tainted hamburger, the world changed forever.  Suddenly the world’s humans are dwindling as the zombies are taking them down one by one – mass feeding’s were not a rare sighting.  Throughout the movie, Columbus tells about us his rules for survival and the four key rules are:

1) Cardio – When the zombie outbreak first hit, the first to go, for obvious reasons… were the fatties.

2) the Double tap  – In those moments where you’re not quite sure if the undead are really dead, dead, don’t get all stingy with your bullets. I mean, one more clean shot to the head, and this lady could have avoided becoming a human Happy Meal. Woulda… coulda… shoulda.

3) Beware of bathrooms – Really not just bathrooms any good apocalyptic zombie survivor should know better than going into a bathroom, small closet or any other small room with only one way in or out. Only thing stupider to go into then a bathroom is a movie theater. Lots of places to run around before you get eaten.  

4) seatbelts – a safe bet unless your a complete dumb dumb ( see rule #7 ) your not going to be hoofing it on foot in the event of a zombie outbreak. So when travelling on four wheels wear your seat belt. Nothing worse than finding yourself ejected out of your car into the loving and oh so hungry arms of zombies.

I am a fan of twisted humor and enjoyed this movie.  The stars, Jessie Eisenberg – Columbus, and Woody Harrelson – Tallahassee, really make the movie. I loved the following quote* because – seriously – I feel the same about coconut, lol :

Tallahassee: [discovers Hostess truck filled with Sno-Balls] Sno-Balls? Sno-Balls? Where the fuck are the God damn Twinkies?
Columbus: I love Sno-Balls.
Tallahassee: I HATE coconut. Not the flavor, but the consistency

*courtesy of IMDb

I also loved how the movie managed to throw in how the youth of today is missing out on some great classics and how we, the 1970’s generation, needs to step up our game in sharing the cultural joys of our youth. I’m talking Smurfs, movie’s like Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and Goonies and singers like – well – hell, I can’t think of anyone but Aerosmith right now but I think I got my point across 🙂

 I am tempted to share a lot more  – like the surprise I had with certain actors being in the movie. I didn’t spoil the movie for myself  by going to IMDb.com and reading up on it so, yes, they were surprises for me – but I’ll keep some of the surprises under lock and key for now. If commentors share – be kind and do the ‘spoiler’ warning thing ;-0.

I do have to say I had a hard time with the girls and their little adventure to Pacific Playland. I mean, how could they not have noticed that Tallahassee made noise to lure the lurking zombies out for some double tapping whenever the four of them made a pit stop. But – on the plus side, this is where the video game likeness comes in. It looks so much like an arcade video game that I was hooked and laughing. 

Another thing that bugged me was that – HOLY HELL – you are in a zombie world and you only have ONE shot-gun that you have to reload for your choice weapon of survival? Seriously? I am with Tallahassee, stock up on the automatics and awesome tools of destruction.

  So folks, prepare for gore, laughter and some key survival rules that can be used in all walks of life.  Zombieland, directed by Ruben Fleischer, is an R rated movie with a wicked take on a horrible end for humanity. Rent, sit back and be ready for some gruesome laughs. Enjoy!

   

 

 

 

 Purchase Zombieland right now at Amazon.com by clicking on the image below:

Leave a Reply

