How to Convert your EPUB file to PDF format after removing the DRM protection

Recently an author’s publisher released a book in hardcover and it wasn’t available to my area. The book only seemed to be available for order online but the e-book  was available to order and was cheaper. I figured this was a much faster way to get my long awaited book release.  So I decided to purchase my first e-book online – and I don’t own a Kindle or a Nook. Everything I read said I didn’t need to own one. That I could download a free app for my computer or cell phone and I could have instant access to my e-book. I thought it would be nice to have a file I could load on to my cell phone and computer or MP3 player and take with me, so I went online and downloaded the free reader PC app for Kobo and purchased my first e-book.

Little did I know the trouble I was going to find with this simple supposedly portable concept for books.

After I purchased the e-book, I wanted to download a PDF file. I found out that I couldn’t download the file to my computer unless I downloaded and installed Adobe Digital Editions (ADE). It took me a little bit to find this software for free and install it. Then I found out I had to create/register a free account to activate the ADE program. Finally, I logged back into the online Kobo account I had set up to purchase my e-book and downloaded the EPUB file to my computer – not realizing this wasn’t a PDF file.

I struggled for a good number of hours trying to find the right software that would convert an EPUB file to a PDF file and then I found out that the very EPUB file I wanted to convert was protected by DRM (Digital Rights Manager). The DRM protection prevented me from converting a legitimate e-book  – that I had paid for and downloaded via a reputable bookseller –  to a PDF file. I then had to search again for a one-step solution to remove the DRM protection so that I could convert the EPUB file that I owned to a PDF file via software that was free and didn’t require me to pay later to get the full program to work .

This truly was a test of techie abilities and I am proud to have figured it out as well as I did. I just want to save all of you the hell I went through since it took me several Google searches, several false advertising ‘free’ software download installs and unstalls and 3 different software programs to get a simple e-book into a PDF file format.  I decided to post this blog in the hopes that I could spare anyone else out there who has or will come across this problem.

In this post is information and links on how to 1: download the correct software to read e-book EPUB files on your computer and then 2: how to convert them to a PDF file after removing the DRM protections so that you can transport the converted PDF files to other PDF file compatible devices. I just went through hell figuring all of this out – I really hope you find this post before you go through the same trial and errors that I did.

Don’t be intimidated by the length of this post. The good news is that you only have to install these programs once and after that,  it’s a click and go process that takes just seconds to do: (don’t forget to click on the image for a clearer view of the screen shots)

Step 1: INSTALL Adobe Digital Editions onto your Windows PC

First you need to install Adobe Digital Editions which can be downloaded for FREE  (no trials, no pay to have the full program work – completely free) from here:

http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#fp

Click on download now or scroll down to the download now button

Install Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) and register for a free account and activate your ADE.

ADE looks like this once it is properly installed: (hint – if you click on the image, it will pop out in a new window in a larger readable view)

Step 2: DRM removal: How to Remove DRM from EPUB files using ePubee DRM Removal:

1. Install Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) v1.7.1 (restating this step since its very import to do first – if you don’t, the DRM program won’t work)

Authorize your copy of Adobe Digital Editions, download the EPUB files to your desktop PC, make sure the EPUB files can be opened on ADE.

2. Install ePubee Drm Remvoal which you can get here for FREE:

http://downloads.yahoo.com/software/windows-education-epubee-drm-removal-s548538

The installed program looks like this:

When you install the program, Run ePubee Drm Removal to remove DRM from EPUB files:

Next step is to Input files as follows:

Click on the “browse” button to choose your EPUB e-book / input folder. You’ll find it in “My Documents\My Digital Editions”.

If you just can’t find the EPUB e-book, open Adobe Digital Editions and find the path in the properties of the e-book.

You do not need to find the EPUB Files one by one, just choose the folder which the EPUB files were saved in, the ePub Drm Removal software helps you decrypt tens of DRM protected EPUB files at one time!

Click “unDrm directory”, this removes the DRM  from all of the EPUB files in the folder listed above (“My Documents\My Digital Editions”.

The decrypted EPUB files will be saved to another folder (if ePub DRM Removal installed in D:\program files\ePub Drm Removal\, the DRM-free EPUB files will be saved to D:\program files\ePub Drm Removal\Decrypt\), no change to the source files

Open your newly created DRM-free EPUB file with your favorite application (on whatever device you like).

If you don’t do the above ‘Step 2’ first,  the next product won’t work.

Step 3:  Download and Install Calibre

Next download and install Calibre for FREE (again – no trials, no pay later for the full program to work)  which can be found here:

http://calibre-ebook.com/download

After installing Calibre, run the program and add your EPUB ebook file to Calibre. If you installed the program correctly and added the EPUB files correctly as well, it should look like this:

Once you have added the file, you have the option to convert your e-book files.

While highlighting the EPUB file you want to convert to PDF format, click on the icon that says: Convert Books, as shown here: (don’t forget to click on the image for a clearer view of the screen shots)

A new window opens up that looks like this:

In the upper left and right corners you have the input file (original file format you added into Calibre) and the output file. These can be changed via the little black arrow down button. Be sure to check that the input file says: EPUB and the output file is changed to say: PDF (since for the purpose of this blog tutorial is to convert the EPUB file to a PDF file. If you want another file you can play around with those once you’ve done this first test run to a PDF file).  Once you have verified the correct output file, click the okay button in the lower right corner. Calibre will convert the file to a PDF format in just a couple of minutes or less.

Once the conversion is completed, you can highlight the book that you just converted and to the left of the window, click on Formats. As you can see in the image below, on the right, the E-book file by Laurie, Victoria is in both an EPUB format and PDF format. If you ‘click to open’ as it says next to ’ Path:’– a new window will open which will show you where the PDF file is stored on your PC.

Now that you’ve installed all 3 of these software programs, you can download all your EPUB e-book files and convert them to PDF files with ease. If you have any questions or issues trying to use these programs, feel free to leave a comment and I’ll be happy to try and help you out.

Of course, I did all this to load the e-book onto my cell phone only to find out that the fileviewer on my phone doesn’t work properly. My next step is going to be converting the PDF file to an MP3 file that I can load onto my cellphone and be able to at least listen to the book while I am stuck in line somewhere 🙂 .  I’ll probably post the instructions for that in another post here.

In the meantime, welcome to the world of PC e-books without a Kindle or Nook and Happy Reading!!

96 thoughts on “How to Convert your EPUB file to PDF format after removing the DRM protection

    1. Yin, here is a download link for Calibre for Linux os: http://calibre-ebook.com/download
      Click on the Penguin Logo for Linux and follow the install instructions.

      It looks like you can skip the first two steps of the tutorial in my blog and just download Calibre. Apparently there is a Calibre DRM removal plugin that you can download too that will work for Linux OS. I found a website with this tutorial. Since I don’t have Linux OS, I can’t do the steps myself and tell you if this tutorial misses any basics or if the program has issues or not other than that it can’t remove DRM from ibooks or LIT. Here is the tutorial for getting the plugins and how to use them:

      Tutorial: How to Use Calibre DRM Removal?

      Step 1: Download Calibre with your Internet browser such as Firefox, IE, Maxthon, and so on. Versions exist for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux.

      Step 2: Download the latest combined tools package here: http://www.datafilehost.com/download-8210f840.html
      and then unzip it.

      Step 3: Run Calibre. Click Preferences > Plug-ins. Then Click on the large “Add a new plugin” button. Navigate to the tools folder unzipped in step 2.

      Step 4: Open the Calibre_Plugins folder. Select one of the zip files in that folder. Click on Add. Click on the “Yes” button in the warning dialog that appears. A Confirmation dialog appears that the plug-in has been installed.

      Step 5: You must now configure the plugins. Which plugins need configuring, and the information you need to enter depends on what kind of ebooks you have. If your ebooks don’t match the description at the start of any of the following items, ignore it and move on to the next.

      Step 6: Now click on the “Apply” button, and then close the preferences. You’re now ready to remove eBook DRM. Just import them into Calibre, and the DRM will be removed. Done!

      1. This is a brilliant sent of instructions.

        Highly praise the person that went to great lengths to make this work.

        Thank you!!!!!

  1. Lori –

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. Your guide to converting .epub files to .pdf files saved me hours of frustration. I used Google to find articles to convert .epub to pdf but met with a bunch of false starts and a lot of head scratching. Your guide was very clear and step-by-step oriented.
    In no time.

    – Lou Bernstein

    1. Glad to have been a help. I know all about those false starts and head scratching moments with a couple of choice words thrown in for good measure when I went through this process myself. I couldn’t believe how difficult it was to simply convert a file format and when I found the solution I definitely wanted to help others out and save them the time and aggravation that I went through. I’ve got over a 100 e-books now and I can convert the formats with ease using Calibre. Its a very user friendly program 🙂

  2. Dear Lori,

    I agree completely with Lou and have very little to add. The downloads worked slightly differently for me (Win 7), but overall it was effective. Many times I have also had the experience of downloading hassles trying to solve new file names. Usually I send a note off to my computer friends and let them find a solution. Thankfully your information showed up near the beginning of a search and now my computer friends can contact me for help! Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Happy Reading, Jas

  3. I have a Sony e-reader and my husband has a kindle fire, however, I’ve had my library far longer, and have alot more titles that we were afraid we couldn’t share, until I found this, you probably just saved me days of my life searching for an answer.

    1. I am glad the article was helpful. The Calibre program really frees up your e-book library options and is an easy program to use. I hope you enjoy using it as much as I do and that it helps exchanging files from your Sony e-reader to your husbands Kindle Fire. Thanks for letting me know this article saved you time!~>^..^<~

  4. Lori I have a Nook Color. I followed your directions and got as far as downloading ADE, but then I couldn’t open the Epub file in ADE as I got a “This is registered to a different user” error. What I am trying to do…I downloaded some knitting patterns to my Nook and I simply need a paper copy in order to follow the instructions. Using my Nook to read the instructions is not working for me. Any suggestions?

    1. Dorothy,

      Do you know if the files are DRM protected? You might be able to install the Calibre program without the ADE and DRM steps. It seems that Calibre has plugins that can be downloaded to help remove the DRM protection if needed. These are trickier to use than the software I recommended in the post though. My suggestion and sorry for the delay in this response, would be to skip right to installing Calibre onto your computer. Load your knitting EPUB files into Calibre. At this point, if they load without any warnings, then you should be free to read the patterns using the Calibre program and you can print the patterns directly from your computer as well as adjust the size of the font. Please let me know if you are able to install the Calibre program without the first two steps as well as if you were able to load your knitting patterns EPUB files into the program without DRM issues. I hope this suggestion works for you!

      Looking forward to hearing how this experiment goes…

    2. I hope every one reads this reply!! I will have to do an update to my post but I think I have – hopefully – figured out why some of you are having some issues with your EPUB’s. First – did you order them for a NOOK? If you ordered your EPUB fro a Nook from B&N, they have linked their DRM encryption to the credit card they made you put on file to order the e-book. This requires a different work around to get rid of the DRM encryption. Luckily I found a really handy dandy website that has a packaged download that helps you remove the DRM. You still need to download the Nook for your PC reader. If you already tried to install the Nook book into your calibre reader, delete it from within the calibre program – make sure you don’t accidentally delete the actual Epub file. Once you download the Nook for your PC reader, click on this link and download the 9mb of software….

      http://www.myebooksoft.com/bn-nook-drm-remover.htm

      Install this software using the wizard. Once it is installed, open up your Nook. Click on the Myebooksoft icon on your desktop. Search for the location of the Nook book – it won’t be in with your Calibre files or your Digital Editions (btw – this is also why Digital Editions can’t open the Nook epub files). The Nook book should be found where ever you told it to save when you downloaded it from B&N. Click on the book you want to get rid of the B&N Drm from and then click next. THe program will open up another window that asks you to input the credit card and name you ordered the NOOK book with – this is the ONLY way to remove the B&N DRM. You have to enter in your credit card number. The software says it doesn’t store this information and if you want portability of the Epub file, this is something you are going to have to trust and just enter the credit card information. Once it is entered, click next, the program continues and a key is generated that takes away the DRM from the Epub file. It is then saved in the following directory: MyebookSoft in the file BN DRM removal.

      NOw go and open your Calibre if it isn’t already opened. Go to ADD books button. Retrieve the e-book from the MyebookSoft folder under the BN DRM removal. It will NOW Open and be convertible. Good luck all – sorry it took me so long to reply 🙂

  5. Hello,

    I have five or six e-books in EPUB format that I want to convert to PDF documents for printing.

    I found Calibre, and as your very informative post indicates, gets the job done.

    But here is my problem. When my book is converted and I open up the PDF document, the font is enormous!!! It doesn’t look anything like a real book.

    I don’t care if it looks like a real book, but I don’t like the huge fonts and the 400+ pages to print. I tried messing around with the base font to no avail.

    Given you have successfully converted so many EPUBs, do you have any tips on making an EPUB to PDF conversion actually look like a real PDF/book document?

    Thanks!

    1. Hector,

      There are a couple of different options you can do to adjust the font. Usually a PDF document can be edited if you have the Adobe Acrobat suite. Yet, if you are like the average computer user, shelling out $300 plus for the Adobe Suite isn’t an option and you are using the Adobe Reader, with limited editing options.
      As you realize, these documents are created so you can read them on your computer and you’re opening a book – they usually can be 300 to 500 pages long, even with the smaller font. Playing around with the document in Adobe Acrobat Reader, I’ve found out that while you can adjust the viewing size, there is little you can do to adjust the actual document size. I pretty much only found this really cool option that will read the book out loud for you under the view option but that’s not going to reduce your font size. Anyway, I found the better option is to print out the document using your Calibre program.

      Using the Calibre program, either keep or convert your Ebook in/to EPUB format. In the EPUB format, you can adjust the font size down and take a 320 page book and have it print out as 120 pages. Simply open the EPUB file and look to the left of your ebook reading screen. First you will want to adjust the font size. There are 2 symbols starting 4 down on the left hand size of the screen that are 2 ‘A’ (both captial ‘A’s’ one small, one larger), one symbol has an arrow up above the ‘A’s and the other symbol has an arrow down above the ‘A’s’. Click on the ‘A’s with the arrow down and adjust your font size to a legible smaller size. This is how I reduced my 320 pages down to 120 pgs. Next, there is a printer as the last symbol on the list of editing options for the ebook you are viewing. Right click on the printer and a Print Preview option will open up. Here you can verify that you indeed reduced your book size from the larger font and page numbers to a smaller printing. This is the easiest way to reduce the font size and page print outs that I can suggest. If the file is in PDF format, you can easily convert it to EPUB format using the Calibre program.

      I hope this information helps and am sorry for the delayed response. Yes, the blog is still open, just was on hiatus for a bit.

      If you have any trouble with getting the EPUB file to alter your page printing size and output, feel free to run the issue by me and hopefully I will be able to assist you. Thank you~

  6. Thank you, thank you, thank you !!! I can now read the ebook I brought, I was becoming so frustrated with not being able to read it thru the Adobe DE loaded ,it just kept crashing. … .Fantastic!!!

    1. Its amazing how frustrating it can be cause it seems like such a simple concept till you try using those dang e-books on your computer, lol. Calibre really is a fantastic program! I use it daily and have it running constantly in the background on my computer. Enjoy!

    2. sorry i didn’t read your post sooner, i commented below that on a mac in the ADE program: add and open your epub book and select print, then you click pdf (or from the printer selection drop down menu select pdf) and it will simply export and save as a pdf. don’t be alarmed if it doesn’t open right away, there isn’t usually any status box and on larger files it may take a bit to save completely.

  7. I’m new to Ebooks and I have a Blackberry Playbook, I have an adobe reader that opens pdf’s so if there is anyone with knowledge of how to convert ebooks to pdfs, I have a mac book and I could really use the help! 🙂

    thanks

    1. Chocoswain,

      Yes! Calibre works for Macbooks. Here is the information I found. Unfortunately, I don’t have a Mac so I can’t walk through the steps myself and verify that everything works smoothly or figure out if you need anything extra to get the DRM’s removed. If you have the Adobe Digital Reader installed on your Mac and can get the ePubee DRM removal installed, then installing the Mac OS Calibre software, should work for converting your Ebooks to PDF’s. If the ePubee DRM doesn’t work, there is a plug in like for the Linux OS. So far, from what I can tell, Calibre takes care of the DRM issue on its own but if that’s not the case – PLEASE, let me know!

      Okay here are the steps for Mac OS:

      Step 1: Here is a download link for Calibre for Mac OS: http://calibre-ebook.com/download
      Step 2: Click on the Apple Logo for OS X (Mac) and follow the install instructions

      Please Note:

      1) If you are using OS X Tiger or a PowerPC Mac, the last version of calibre that will work on your machine is 0.7.28, available here
      http://sourceforge.net/projects/calibre/files/0.7.28/calibre-0.7.28.dmg/download
      2) The app cannot be run from within the dmg. You must drag it to a folder on your filesystem (The Desktop, Applications, wherever).
      3) To install the command line tools, go to Preferences->Advanced->Miscellaneous
      4) In order for localization of the user interface in your language, select your language in the preferences (by pressing ⌘+P) and select your language.

      If you need the Calibre Plugins, here is the information I found for installing those. Again, I couldn’t walk through these steps so I can’t verify how all of this works or if the steps could be more clearly defined:

      I believe like the Linux OS plugin, this plugin can’t remove DRM from ibooks or LIT. Here is the tutorial for getting the plugins and how to use them:

      Tutorial: How to Use Calibre DRM Removal?

      Step 1: Download Calibre with your Internet browser such as Firefox, IE, Maxthon, and so on. Versions exist for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux.

      Step 2: Download the latest combined tools package here: http://www.datafilehost.com/download-8210f840.html
      and then unzip it.

      Step 3: Run Calibre. Click Preferences > Plug-ins. Then Click on the large “Add a new plugin” button. Navigate to the tools folder unzipped in step 2.

      Step 4: Open the Calibre_Plugins folder. Select one of the zip files in that folder. Click on Add. Click on the “Yes” button in the warning dialog that appears. A Confirmation dialog appears that the plug-in has been installed.

      Step 5: You must now configure the plugins. Which plugins need configuring, and the information you need to enter depends on what kind of ebooks you have. If your ebooks don’t match the description at the start of any of the following items, ignore it and move on to the next.

      Step 6: Now click on the “Apply” button, and then close the preferences. You’re now ready to remove eBook DRM. Just import them into Calibre, and the DRM will be removed. Done!

      Please let me know if this works for you!! It looks like I might want to create a blog post for both the Linux and Mac Os people out there looking to convert their ebooks to PDF’s as well. Good Luck!!

      Lori

  8. With Firefox there’s an EPUB add on. It took me less than 2 minutes to install and start reading my epub book. Your method is very long and unnecessary.

    1. That would require everyone to install FireFox and it would also require that you run FireFox to read your e-books. If you are just trying to convert an e-book file, then the EPUB add-on will not be what people are looking for and that is what this article is about – not finding an e-reader but finding a software program that can convert the e-book formats so that you can have your e-books accessible on ANY e-reader and not have to be connected online to read your e-book. Thank you~

  9. Thank you Lori. Much appreciated. I didn’t have a lot of time so I whizzed through your instructions and somehow did something where I can read it in both Adobe Editions and Calibre. The fonts are fine. When I have more time, I’ll carefully go through your instructions and pick one or the other. Thanks again.

    1. I’m glad whizzing through the instructions at least got you where you needed to be and have access to both the Adobe Editions and Calibre. I still find that I much prefer the Calibre program just for its ease of use alone. The organization it provides for my reading library is just an added bonus. I had no idea that I follow over 20 different book series. Its amazing what having your own digital library can show you about your reading habits. Enjoy!

  10. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge on this. I read on multiple devices and keep all of my books on all the devices. Being able to convert over to PDF is so helpful.

  11. Hi! I would appreciate some help with this: I downloaded a book in PDF format, but when I try to open it I get a request for permission to connect to amazon.com; when I grant such permission a browser window opens with the page of the book on Amazon!? The PDF itself seems to contain only a lot of .tmp files situated in a strange folder (C:\Users\ bokel\Desktop\amzn prebooks\page2.txt)!?

    1. Hello,

      Where did you download the PDF from? Was it an ‘approved’ source? If it was from sources outside normal vendors, it is quite possible it was a bad file. It happens a lot out there. Sometimes the file size is a good indication of whether or not it is a legit file. Generally my e-books are around a file size of 200-400KB for an EPUB file. For a PDF file, the size is larger – like 1MB or more. Anything lower is usually a scam or advertisement. Hope this helps…

      1. Hi again! Actually, I have two different PDF’s (books) on completely different subjects downloaded from completely different sources; I don’t know if torrent and file sharing sites qualify as ‘approved’ sources!?:) I wouldn’t have written if the PDF’s did not ‘look’ OK, judging by their sizes – 14-15 MB. And, BOTH files contain these .tmp files in a directory “C:\Users\ bokel\Desktop\amzn prebooks”!!? (seen when opened in PDF Reader). [ http://rapidlibrary.com/files/life-by-keith-richards-by-keith-richards-pdf_51214633.html ]

  12. hello…thank you so much for this information. I just downloaded a free ebook (I don’t want to pay just for an ebook) but in “epub” format for the first time because I always downloaded ebooks in pdf format. When I downloaded it, I thought it will be easy to convert it to pdf so I googled sites to covert it free. It took me 3 websites and it always tells me “error. Your file is protected” and I didn’t know what to do so I was very thankful that I found your site and it was very helpful.

  13. I was so happy I found this post! I tried it and it worked great. But there are some DRM-protected books through NOOK that won’t convert because they can’t be opened in ADE….is there a way to convert them so I can read them on my Kindle? I’ve looked around but haven’t found much of anything. Thanks!

    1. Please check out my most recent reply to a comment on here. I just went through this and figured out the problem and the solution. Sorry it took me so long to reply! This solution is easy and fast and works well…hope it works for you!!!

  14. Thank you so much for creating this very clear and well written blog. I was so frustrated when I thought that I wouldn’t be able to transfer the eBooks I had bought with the Waterstones gift card I was given to my Kindle, but now i’ve done it thanks to you! 25 pounds worth of eBooks has not gone to waste! You’ve made me very happy. Thanks again.

  15. hello lori i download everything you said to but the drm is not coming off my ebooks it just puts it in another folder and says problem decrypting session key HELPPPPP

  16. Thank you very very much for a clear and incisive instruction on the process. First time using it to convert an epub file went quite smoothly and all the download required programmes went down and in smoothly. I did learn one thing as well… I could not get the epub file into ePubee drm removal prog until after 5 or 6 trials until the fog cleared from my brain and I guessed that there was no protection on the file in the first place!! Once put into Calibre things went like a dream.
    Again thanks for the clarity of instructions

  17. thanks for giving a precious information
    but i couldn’t convert my epub files into adept files. the messages showing in my difital edition – this epub is not adept.epub, why so? and trying to remove drm through epubee drm removal showing “the directory donot have protected epub files.
    please guide me, as i couldnt able to convert epub files.

    thanks once again!

  18. Hi I have followed your instructions and although the DRM removal tool is slightly different from your screen shop it does say that it has been unDRMed. However when I try to change format in Calibre I keep getting a popup telling me that it is DRM locked.

    I know it is probably something that I am doing wrong but I have uninstalled and reinstalled a couple of times and just can’t get it to work.

    Thank you
    Aileen

    1. Hello again – well after a good nights sleep and returning fresh to the problem I can see what I was doing wrong!

      Thank you for these programmes they are most helpful. Sorry about my ‘blonde’ moment!

      Regards
      Aileen

  19. I find your Blog very helpful yet I’m having a problem with the Epubee DRM removal. I’ve moved all my epub books to my documents/ digital edition.Wwhen I choose this file, the DRM removal states there are no DRMs in this file. I do have Windows 7 not sure if that’s a factor. Am I doing something wrong?

    1. I hope every one reads this reply!! I will have to do an update to my post but I think I have – hopefully – figured out why some of you are having some issues with your EPUB’s. First – did you order them for a NOOK? If you ordered your EPUB fro a Nook from B&N, they have linked their DRM encryption to the credit card they made you put on file to order the e-book. This requires a different work around to get rid of the DRM encryption. Luckily I found a really handy dandy website that has a packaged download that helps you remove the DRM. You still need to download the Nook for your PC reader. If you already tried to install the Nook book into your calibre reader, delete it from within the calibre program – make sure you don’t accidentally delete the actual Epub file. Once you download the Nook for your PC reader, click on this link and download the 9mb of software….

      http://www.myebooksoft.com/bn-nook-drm-remover.htm

      Install this software using the wizard. Once it is installed, open up your Nook. Click on the Myebooksoft icon on your desktop. Search for the location of the Nook book – it won’t be in with your Calibre files or your Digital Editions (btw – this is also why Digital Editions can’t open the Nook epub files). The Nook book should be found where ever you told it to save when you downloaded it from B&N. Click on the book you want to get rid of the B&N Drm from and then click next. THe program will open up another window that asks you to input the credit card and name you ordered the NOOK book with – this is the ONLY way to remove the B&N DRM. You have to enter in your credit card number. The software says it doesn’t store this information and if you want portability of the Epub file, this is something you are going to have to trust and just enter the credit card information. Once it is entered, click next, the program continues and a key is generated that takes away the DRM from the Epub file. It is then saved in the following directory: MyebookSoft in the file BN DRM removal.

      NOw go and open your Calibre if it isn’t already opened. Go to ADD books button. Retrieve the e-book from the MyebookSoft folder under the BN DRM removal. It will NOW Open and be convertible. Good luck all – sorry it took me so long to reply 🙂

  20. Thank you.. I am using ITunes trying to transfer my books to a Kindle. I’ve been looking for ITunes DRM removals but haven’t been successful.

  21. Thanks for this useful guide, but I’ve been having some problems.

    First, I tried to open my iTunes purchased epub files in ADE and they imported, but when I tried to open them there is no text. When i clicked on info it said “Error E_PKG_ENCRYPTION_XML_SYNTAX”
    But, I tried to proceed to see if it would work so I opened epubee and looked in My Digital Editions, but there was nothing there. Then, I tried going directly to the iTunes book folder where they are kept and epubee said there was no DRM. Because of that I went and tried to open them in Calibre but I was then informed that they did in fact have DRM. I am very confused and hope that you can help with this.
    Thanks so much!

  22. thank you so much for sharing your hard work with us. I am glad I found this site at the beginning of my search. I live in Australia and have a Nook Simple Touch with Glowlight. It is a pity I can’t access Barnes & Noble books, but your site has provided me with information on how I can get books on to my computer using ADE and convert to my Nook using Calibre. Thank you.

  23. You are the BOOOOMMMBBB!!!! I had no idea what I was getting into when I bought an e-reader. I didn’t want or need wi-fi or specific brand, just wanted to have a nice little 7 inch screen to read the books I legally paid for, thats it. I ended buying a very cheap (doesn’t even have a make and model thats how cheap), but very, very adequate for what I wanted it to do and was just beside myself trying to understand this whole DRM thing. I must have downloaded 4 programs before I found this blog and this finally worked and its very easy to use. Thank you so much for this. I have no intetnion of pirating, reselling or any of that junk. It’s amazing, most people are like me they just want to read the book they bought on their device…period. I’m a publsihed author as well, so when I found out about this I made sure that my book was available in many places without the DRM junk associated. I really don’t think they did this as a protection for copyrighting either. The more I look at it its to get you to buy, number 1, a specific e-reader and, number 2, buy all your books from a specific site….this in turns boils down to plain old control and greed…very sickening. I’m sorry, but I don’t buy books, groceries, gas, clothes etc….from a single location, so why the books??? Anyway, I digress, in summary many thanks for your research and sharing I promise to use this responsibly.

  24. Thank you soooo much, I started on the same journey, downloaded several programs, none of them worked until I landed on your blog and it worked. I did not even have to install Calibre, just the DRM remover was enough, iTunes could then accept the file and it is now displayed in my iBooks on my iPad. Thanks a lot because I spent $20 on the digital edition of that book with the intention to read it on my iPad but could not download it there so had to download it on my PC. And when copying to iTunes, the front page did display correctly but I got an error message when opening it. Now it works, you are my hero !

  25. If only I had found this when I first started getting past the DRM. I had already done the DRM stripping before I stumbled onto this. Anyway, my issue was the text to speech engine on my phone and the google play ebook reader. The only way it would read the text is if I turned on screen reading under accessibility options in the phone settings. That was exceedingly obnoxious when I wanted to do anything else with my phone. That said when I did the convert method that you suggested ezpdf reader didn’t recognize anything from the resulting PDF file as text. However, Calibre gave me the option to print and I was able to print it to a PDF document with cutepdf writer and then ezpdf reader was able to read the text.

    That said here is the deal with DRM, Other than being obnoxious to those who purchase the book legally it does absolutely nothing to prevent unauthorized copies of the book. In my case it makes me want to make unauthorized copies of the book so that others don’t have to go through the crap that I went through.

  26. Thanks so much for this. As a person with a non-affiliated e-reader, this is a godsend! Who knew how hard it would be to get compatible books?

    Cath

    1. They really have altered the book market with these e-books. It almost forms a monopoly for each e-book seller which I find rather frustrating. If I pay for a paperback or hardcover – I can take it anywhere, give it to whatever friends I care to share it with and not have to worry bout copyrights. The same should be said for an e-book that I purchase. Once I purchase it, I should have to right to read it on whatever device I care to. I shouldn’t be locked/forced into using only one kind of device. I always thought the purpose of writing a book (once you get past making money off of it) was to share your words and get it out to the public. The whole e-book industry stifles that and thank goodness for Calibre! With that program, I have freedom to read a book as it was intended to be. Sorry – been holding that vent in for months now 🙂 Its so wonderful to know I am not the only person that feels that way and the number of hits this blog has gotten has pretty much shouted that to me. Glad you found the blog. 🙂

  27. Thanks a mil! This is my first ebook purchase and was so annoyed when I couldn’t read it on my HTC HD2…..Been searching forever for a converter and most are trial version and hence did not do the job.
    I’m so greatful that I’ve found your site as this have solved my problem and on my way to enjoy the book on the run.

  28. Many many many thanks!! I’ve started your search as well, but so thankfully landed on your site in, well… just in time (read: just before going crazy) Couldn’t be more grateful that you took the time to help all of us!

    Kind regards,
    Joyce

  29. Thank you so much.i have spent most of the day looking for a converter and nothing I tried worked and then I stumbled across this and it worked like a dream.Thank you!

  30. Thank you so much for this. I was starting to lose patience trying to do it! Calibre worked for me without needing step 2 (DRM stripping) on the file I was working with, but is there similar software to DRM strip on a mac in case I need to in the future?
    Thanks once again
    Karen

  31. Worked like a dream on my ASUS Windows 64 bit OS – converting epub ebook to pdf format for portable devices. I’m IT literate and it drove me bananas emailing to and fro with reseller to get it to wor on my Samsung Tablet to read [it was okay on windows, but needed it to travel on smaller devices I own] Thank you so much – you saved me a heap of time! Gratitude & Peace to you!

  32. Thank you for your research and post!
    With the new addition of Adobe Digital Editions
    PDF ePub DRM Removal 2.8.0.183 instead of ePubee Drm Removal
    works seamless like a charm.

  33. About a year after and these advices still work, amazing!

    Thanks a lot for your tutorial and the links, blessings for you ;D

  34. OMG! Thank you sooooo much! I’ve had a set of books sitting in a folder for so long just because I couldn’t work out how to convert the files. Finally I can read the books thanks to you. Really appreciate your time to post this info for all of us.

  35. thank you so much Lori…! 😀
    it is sad to see that you havent write anything since July ’11.
    I wish you all the luck and best wishes possible
    thanks again

  36. Thanks so much. I had used this to convert a couple of books to send to my friend as a wedding present. So you helped me send presents, so that is certainly a wow. Please do share anything else you might have, only 1/10 of people or less would actually comment, so just do the matha and smile at the service you are doing to humanity. I am visiting your site for the third time and have bookmarked the link, too.

  37. Any chance of still getting help with this article?

    I’ve got so far as to trying to convert my epub to pdf in Calibre, but something goes wrong. I get a pdf alright, but something goes wrong with the pagebreaks. The page cuts mid-line, leaving part of the letters on one page and the rest on the next page. It looks like this http://i.cubeupload.com/fvaZ1C.png

    Do you perhaps know what I’m doing wrong? Thanks

    1. I’m not 100% sure what’s going on with the conversion. There are steps in Calibre to manage exactly how the epub converts. I know it’s almost 4 years later, I hope you were able to figure it out.

  38. You’re really my time saver. I would never figure it out had I not found your easy to follow step by step with pictures. Thank you so much!

  39. I cannot thank you enough. I bought an ebook in epub file several hours ago and the ereader i had to use made the images REALLY small. I spent most of my time squinting at the images, trying to read it. So just when i was close to losing my mind and giving up, i found your blog. Thank goodness!!

  40. Thank you Lori!

    Having readers for almost any ebook format, I’m not used to converting from one to the other. Luckily I found your quite clear instructions, and managed to convert some ePub books to PDF for my mother’s Kindle.

    I totally agree with your rant. I’d like to add that the best way to avoid being locked into a given format is to use open-source stuff.

    BTW, check out ConvertLIT (at http://www.convertlit.com), it can do just what its name implies. I don’t know about the iBook format though, I don´t have any ebook of that kind.

    Cheers,
    jaf

  41. Almost 4 years later and the guide is still flawlessl. Just converted an epub file for a lady-friend of mine using your method.

    Brownie points deposited into my account 😉

Leave a Reply

